JTD Parents' Association

The John Thomas Dye School Parents' Association (PA) supports activities at JTD and helps foster relationships within the JTD community.
All JTD parents and guardians are members of the Parents’ Association. There are no registrations and no dues.

There are people of many different backgrounds on campus with many different talents-- and just as many ways to become involved in our community! Whether a parent has an hour to volunteer or wants a year-long leadership role, there is a place for everyone to be involved in the JTD community!
Leadership Roles
Each Spring, JTD parents and guardians who want to serve in a leadership role with the PA may apply to serve on the Executive Committee, as a Committee Co-Chair, or as a Room Parent.
These roles are filled in the late Spring and Summer for the following school year. Together PA officers and the committee chairs of the 19 committees, under the guidance of the JTD Administration, plan and execute over 60 events in a typical school year--coordinating guest authors, parent education speakers, Service Learning opportunities, our community gala and auction, the JTD Fair, and more!

The efforts of our amazing community are truly invaluable to our School. The Parents' Association sponsors opportunities for JTD students, faculty, staff, and families that support and enhance the educational, social, and financial needs of the School.
Parents’ Association Mission Statement
The John Thomas Dye School Parents' Association, which consists of all parents of currently enrolled students, actively works toward furthering the school's commitment to family and community.
In order to achieve this goal, the Parents' Association, under the direction of the school, plans and implements programs and activities for the students, parents, faculty and administration. These various programs and activities enhance the connection among all the members of the school community, as well as, raise funds on behalf of the school.

Parents' Association Board 2023-24

List of 7 members.

  • Photo of Ashley Gissendanner

    Ashley Gissendanner 

    Board of Directors
  • Photo of Emily Bold

    Emily Bold 

  • Photo of Melissa Brackett

    Melissa Brackett 

  • Photo of Laura Miller

    Laura Miller 

  • Photo of Lina Cohan

    Lina Cohan 

  • Photo of Kelly Patel

    Kelly Patel 

    Executive Director
  • Photo of Carolyn Shapiro

    Carolyn Shapiro 

    Special Projects Supervisor


List of 18 items.

  • Art Docent

    Sandra Cohen
    Susie Comisar
    Jennifer Djawadi
    Klaudia Gallagher
    Carly Kimmel ‘88
    Leila Nasseri-Vavra '92
    Jenny Youn
  • Auction + Party Book

    Mark Armstrong
    Abby Berman
    Sarah Clossey
    Carolyn Giangiacomo
    Julia Harris
    Lauren Park
    Laura Solomon
  • Bocce Ball & Fun Run

    Avi Cohen
    Ian Fried
    Tom Gissendanner
    Kami Parsa
    Anil Ranavant
    KJ Singh
    Victor Yip
  • Boutique

    Lina Cohan
    Joyce Lai
    Joelle May
    Kelly Patel
    Amanda Schrier Jennifer Wagner
  • Faculty/Staff Appreciation

    Meredith Chasin
    Rachel Crowley ‘98
    Danielle Del Deo
    Claire Goldsmith
    Kelly Herman
    Alia Tutor
  • Faculty/Staff Gifting

    Neha Desai
    Seema Jain
    Abhi Patwardhan
  • Fair

    Susanna Courier
    Raquel Dina
    Carrie Loewen
    Sean Merritt
    Kathryn Parsa
    Gregory Restum
    Ali Wyatt
  • Hospitality

    Stephanie Hoetomo
    Lin Jiao
    Eliza Kawamura
    Sally McKnight
    Camille Natta Claflin
  • Library

    Alisha Hirsch
    Jennifer Lee
    Jessica Lloyd
    Gold Junko
    Huria Patwardhan
    Shari Rosenblum
    Amy Winsberg
  • Logowear

    Jennifer Chou
    Meredith Fried ‘90
    Kim Kuei
    Elaine Russell
    Anne Ziegler
  • Lunch on the Lawn

    Michelle Choi
    Marsha Elkhunovich
    Jessica Graham '87
    Nathalie Huddleston
    Robyn Thomas
    Nava Yeganeh
  • Parent Education

    Allison Checchi
    Uyen Chu
    Sadie Diaz
    Michelle Kelrick
    Julie Skatoff
    Rachel Waterman
  • Service Learning

    Melissa Brackett
    Heather Braun
    Sarah Clossey
    Sandra Cohen
    Tammy Ratner
    Shari Rosenblum Botnick
  • Special Event

    Albina Hunt
    Morgan Ickovics
    Janice McNair
    Natasha Moradzadeh
    Lindsay Price
    Desiree Rahban
  • Sports Coordinators

    Saurabh Jain
    Lee Rawles
    Andrew Schaff
  • Store

    Constantinos Michael
    Laura Miller
    Irene Wu
  • Sunshine & Social

    Suzanne Berkman
    ‘92 Andrea Kahn
    Debora Mock
  • Sustainable Uniform

    Elaine Neo
    Lauren Rabinowitz
    Laura Revy
    Stephanie Schur
    Deepal Shah-Tanuku
    Daniel Zweben
Ready to apply?
Applicants for admission are accepted one year prior to the student's enrollment. If you have just found out you are moving to Los Angeles or if you have any questions, please feel free to call the admissions office for information.

The John Thomas Dye School

11414 Chalon Road
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone: (310) 476-2811
The John Thomas Dye School admits students of any race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the School. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national and ethnic origin in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic or other school-administered programs.

Located In Los Angeles, CA, John Thomas Dye is an independent school for grades K-6. Students benefit from a challenging academic program, fine arts, competitive athletics, and a wide selection of extracurricular activities.